Vine Bondage

vine-dance

The Viscera Dance Theatre shoot was very mixed. They were great people to meet and they both seem like a lot of fun but the shoot itself was very stressful. They are dancers, not models, and posing was very difficult. I get concerned for models while they are in bondage, so this was an agonizing experience in a way because I could see how uncomfortable they were. They were very exacting with what they wanted, so due to this they seemed unhappy with their facial expressions for the most part. Especially once I put the female in suspension…you can see the discomfort on her face in several of the shots. I wasn’t able to do the suspension rig that I had visioned and had to keep that part as simplistic as possible for ease of suspension and to allow for quick release. I was a lot happier with the floor bondage, seen above. The suspension pose was based on an actual lift they do in their performance piece, but it is an excellent position for a suspension and I think it turned out great. The one below is the one they like the best since her face is turned from the light and you can’t see any pain or discomfort on her face. Before the bondage and suspension I went over the safety concerns and during the suspension I reminded her to just breathe through it and everything will relax and feel better after a bit but I could see that she wasn’t feeling it. I don’t like keeping anyone in suspension if they are uncomfy (except of course in a session where the discomfort is part and parcel of the suspension). However this was what they wanted so I obliged, though if this was a shoot I was doing for myself I would probably have taken her down.  In the end I respect her for doing this for the sake of art as she is not a bondage model at all, but she stuck with it to get the shot though she was in pain. That’s dedication right there and I love it!!

vine-bondage2

~ by An Amazing Woman on January 14, 2009.

3 Responses to “Vine Bondage”

  1. well I like the photos and the color green of the ropes. they probably focused too much on their facial expressions and missed the real beauty of those kind of photos. you aren’t supposed to look like christie brinkley with a big smile on your face. it would probably look even more odd if they did.

  2. Ms Nikki,
    Awesome work! i’m curious, did the models do there usual stretching and physical prep the way they might prior to a performance? (if they look that great without it i am REALLY jealous).
    Your work, Your eyes… never disappoint!
    Thanks for posting!

  3. The guy is hot!

Leave a Reply

 
