Interpretive Dance Meets Bondage

I am preparing for an epic shoot tonight with Viscera Dance Theatre. They are doing an Anti-Valentine’s Day performance, the piece is from a series focusing on relationship issues…this one in particular is about codependency. They need this photo for promos and posters for the show. No pressure or anything. This is pretty much a one-shot deal since I won’t really be able to recreate it after the fact.

The shoot is going to have the male in a floor bound position with an upward stretched hand, the female will be suspended above him in an acrobatic pose her hand is extended downward to meet his hand. A rope will tie these arms and hands together. They will both be in full bondage and then wrapped with vines to symbolize how codependency can overgrow and smother a relationship.

I’ve had to cut, treat, and dye ropes, some multi-toned some solid colors, and I’ve still got to dye backdrops. I’m going to create a jungle type settling in the studio. I rarely bother with sets and just focus on the bondage part, so this is both fun and a pain in the ass.

This might be my most favorite assignment!! Heretofore I’ve only shot models, product shots for sex toy companies, websites, and the occasional piece for publication. I’ve never shot a promo piece for a dance company before! They invited me to sit in on their rehearsal and I was really impressed with the their movement and interpretation of the theme…I think I’m more excited to see the performance on stage than doing the photos 🙂

~ by An Amazing Woman on January 7, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
