The Gift of Time

It was nice to spend time with my family. E-town was great, I got to hang out with the in-laws and the siblings. I even got to spend some time with mom and her guy and aunt crazipants, it was a blast actually.

Gifts were scarce as everyone is in a bad position of late, thank you economy, but honestly people had so little money to spend on gifts it seems they put in extra thought into the gifts they bought or made. I love hand made gifts!!

This is what Josh made for me! The Ark++ definitely has it’s own sense of decor and J and I have collected ’80s stuff since before we met 13 years ago so we’ve got a plethora of pop culture items up in here. Oddly enough I don’t really like to hang up photographs around the house, so the art we display is a little off beat. This piece is proudly displayed in the living room by the mantle and I love it!!!Β  Original art is always better! As a photographer I love that he chose to use View Masters and reels for this piece!! I told J he should make more of his art for display, he’s stubborn though and he’s shy about showing of his stuff lol. At least he finally broke down and gave me a piece to show off πŸ™‚

dsc_0103

This is what Mess made for me! She’s getting into jewelry-making and made me a necklace and earrings. I can’t imagine how long it must have taken her, I certainly don’t have the patience for this. And then she made this strawberry cordial, omg it tastes like you are drinking strawberry jam, which can get you sloppy since you don’t really realize how much alkies you are consuming!! It’s amazing but dangerous stuff πŸ™‚ I like how the little dangly bits on the necklace and earrings look like little metal cock-and-balls πŸ™‚

dsc_0013

Speaking of the gift of time, that is exactly what mia gave J and I, well actually her gifts were for all of us!! Her gifts weren’t things, they are experiences that I can’t wait for!!

I open up this package to find a Bustelo can with a couple of printed lines from “Seasons of Love” and tickets to see Rent! If you are unaware of the significance of the Bustelo can, pay attention to “Today 4 U” and also it’s my favorite coffee ever, so it was sweet of her to make that conection. This will be the 4th time I’ve seen this live and the 2nd time I’ve seen it with both Adam Pascal and Anthony Rapp, the original leads!!

dsc_0002

Then the day after we all go to see Rent, we get another gift of time together. The next package was filled with animal crackers and tickets to the circus!! It’ll be great to see all the carnies and animals, and goodness knows J could use a family reunion (bwarharhar, he’s going to kill me). Actually I haven’t been to a circus in a while. I don’t like clowns, yep I am one of those types, but I am really excited!!!

dsc_0009

Time really is the best gift to give.

~ by An Amazing Woman on December 29, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
