Turkey Day and a Punkin

Just a random post about life…

So for turkey day we went to Josh’s mom’s house. This is suck because I usually go to my MeMa and GranGran’s house every year, all my life. But this year they canceled it due to some family drama.

I actually had a good time at Josh’s mom’s. It was nice to see that part of the family. Even my brother showed up, he brought his girlfriend so it was good to see her too. Josh’s brother and wife were there with their 4 year old son, D. Josh was joking around and asked about taking D home with us until the weekend. This child has only spent one night at a time away from his mom, and that is only with Nena (grandma) who lives close by. So we were thinking they’d veto. Well they called Josh’s bluff and told him that if he could convince D to stay with us for a couple of days we could take him, of course they never thought D would agree to it.

Well Josh somehow managed to talk this child into leaving his mother for more than a one night stay for the first time, in a place a state away he’s only visited a few times. Awesome!!!!!

We had a blast! When we got home we conked straight out. The next morning I made pancakes and we all watched cartoons, then we went to the Discovery Place and he had a blast. ZOMGitwassoooooocute!!! We got to see rats playing basketball. Anyway.

Then we went to McDonalds to get him a happy meal. He’s never been able to effectively play on the play ground. He’s always climbed up the first two windy steps and gotten scared because he’s too high; usually he would cry and make someone reach up for him. This time he did it again, but he really really wanted to go down the slide at the top. He kept trying to climb up it from the bottom. So I got in the play area with him and I helped him get up the steps. Half way up he lost heart and got scared and cried. I held him right there, perched atop a plastic shelf meant to hold small children. I wouldn’t let him climb down while he was crying so I made him sit there and calm himself while I talked to him. After a second he dried up and said that he was going to go down that slide. He had so much conviction in his little voice. I helped him up the last step and he had to go the rest of the way on his own. He did and came down that slide with the biggest smile on his face. It was the most precious thing I had ever seen.

After that we came home and he and Josh played guitar hero and wii bowling. Josh got out a huge vat of toys from the garage and dumped it out on the floor. You would have thought it was christmas seeing D going through all the toys in front of him. We watched a Tom and Jerry movie and The Legend of Sasquatch, which is adorable and pretty trippy. The punkin fell asleep in the middle of the second movie, even though he was going to stay up all night 🙂

This morning was low key, just a kid with a cereal bowl sitting in front of the tv watching cartoons. It was surreal, like something off of tv. We went bowling and I am glad we used bumpers because I needed them! The drive back was rainy and long. We were originally going back to town to see my mom, who was coming back home from a church retreat. We dropped off D and said bye to that side of the family and then we went to my mom’s house.

Ugh. Mom was sick and in bed. She didn’t answer my call earlier that day when I was calling to tell her that I was on my way. Oh well. I at least got to give her a hug and tell her that I love her. She owes me a visit though damnit. Tomorrow will be spent cleaning. I loved spending time with the punkin, but I’m excited that I can give him back 😀

~ by An Amazing Woman on November 29, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
